Annual Parish Meeting


Challock Memorial Hall


Tuesday, 13th June 2017, 7.30pm










Welcome & Introductions


Apologies for absence


Matters arising


Minutes of Annual Parish Meeting 14th June 2016


Chairman’s Report


Poetry Competition Announcement of Winners


KCC Ward Councillor Charlie Simkins Report


Open Forum Omission Sites Update


Open Forum for clubs


Any Other Business





Parish Council Meetings


The next Parish Council Meeting will be held on: Thursday, 20th July 2017 in the Challock Memorial Hall at 7.30pm.


 Meeting dates for 2017 are as follows


Tuesday 13th June 2017 Annual Parish Meeting Main Hall


Thursday 20th July


Thursday 21st September


Thursday 16th November


Parish Council meetings are open for the public to attend and you will be very welcome. The public should not speak during the meeting, unless invited by the Chairman. However, you are welcome to discuss issues with the Council during the public session. If you wish to raise an issue to be discussed by the Council at a meeting, please contact the Parish Clerk (see below). Items must be received at least one week before the meeting.



Mr Michael Lathwell-Fisher

Mr John Ramsden

Mr Maxwell Thomas

Miss Emma Fox

Mrs Annabel Burden

Mr Trevor Smith

Mr Anthony Aitken



If you would like a copy of our Freedom of Information Act document Download it by clicking the link below:

Freedom of Information Act

Please note this document requires Adobe Reader



(This section will be completed over the coming months with profiles from our new Parish Councillors)


John Ramsden

John resides at the Challock Post Office on The Lees and has lived in Challock for 15 years. He has been a member of the Parish Council for 12 years.

John worked as an Electrial Engineer with Southern Water Services Ltd but has recently retired.

John's special interests on the Council are: Footpaths, The Lees, and informing villagers what is going on in the parish.

John enjoys clay shooting, target rifle shooting, 10 pin bowling and playing cards. He likes to travel the world and visit national Trust Properties.


Mr Michael Lathwell-Fisher

Michael lives at Crossways, Canterbury Road and has lived in Challock for 40 years. Michael and his wife have 5 children.

Before retiring, Michael worked as Distribution Manager (South) for Carlsberg Brewery for 46 years. 

Michael became a Parish Councillor in May 2011.


Mrs Annabel Burden

Annabel moved to Challock 27 years ago.  She lives at Lilybuds, The Lees.

Annabel works for her husbands groundworks business.  They have four children two of which are at Challock Primary School.

Becoming a Parish Councillor


Elections for the Parish Council are held every four years. The next election will be May 2019. People interested in joining the Council should contact Ashford Borough Council Electoral Registration Officer or Challock Parish Clerk, for a nomination form, in March 2019. If Ashford Borough Council receives an equal number of nomination forms to places on the Council, you will automatically become a Councillor. If there are more nomination forms received than places on the Council, there will be an election.



Occasionally, a Parish Councillor leaves before the end of their four year term, or insufficient nominations forms are received at election time. Usually such vacancies are filled by co-option. The Parish Council interview people interested in becoming a Parish Councillor and select the candidate whose skills best match the requirement on the Council at that time. Please contact the Parish Clerk if you are interested in being co-opted.


The role of a Parish Councillor

The role of a Parish Councillor has a number of basic responsibilities which essentially fall within three main categories: representing the whole electorate within the parish; delivering services to meet local needs; and striving to improve quality of life in the parish. Parish Councils can "precept" - raising a sum collected with the Council Tax each year to improve facilities and services for local people.


Individual powers include the provision and maintenance of community transport schemes, traffic calming measures, local youth projects, tourism activities, leisure facilities, car parks, village greens, litter bins, street lighting, street cleaning, burial grounds, allotments, bus shelters, commons, opens spaces, footpaths, bridleways, and crime reduction measures. They can also comment on planning applications.


Councillors have three main components to their work.

1. Decision making - Through meetings and attending committees with other elected members, Councillors decide which activities to support, where money should be spent, what services should be delivered and what policies should be im plemented.


2. Monitoring - Councillors make sure that their decisions lead to efficient and effective services by keeping an eye on how well things are working.


3. Getting involved locally - As local representatives, Councillors have responsibilities towards their constituents and local organisations.


The Parish Clerk

The Parish Clerk for Challock is Mrs Dianne Sandy.


You can contact the Parish Clerk on 01233 740351 or e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



June 2017
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30
No events



Humidity: 74%
Wind: NW at 17.70 km/h
Thursday 11°C / 18°C Cloudy
Friday 11°C / 20°C Mostly cloudy
Saturday 13°C / 19°C Scattered showers
Sunday 12°C / 21°C Partly cloudy
Monday 13°C / 21°C Partly cloudy
Tuesday 14°C / 22°C Partly cloudy
Wednesday 15°C / 22°C Mostly cloudy
Thursday 15°C / 23°C Partly cloudy